All of Zuiko Digital lenses Four Thirds system discontinued

In 1999, an Olympus chose for a new photosystem sensor 4/3-inch (18 x 13.5 mm), believing that it will be optimal from the point of view of the balance between camera size and image quality. For the new system was developed the lens mount and the data exchange Protocol between camera and lens. The Olympus was joined by Kodak, Fujifilm and Panasonic. In 2003, the Four Thirds system was introduced to the world. The first camera of the new system was the model Olympus E-1 image sensor type CCD resolution 5 MP. At the same time it was announced the first lenses and teleconverters.

One of the features of the system, which was originally designed for the digital photo was telecentric optics, which the outgoing rays fall on the sensor at a right angle over its entire surface area. On the one hand, this improves the image quality, on the other hand, the lenses are quite large, reducing the advantage of the above format cameras APS-C. However, system camera Four Thirds in the past — the last model was released six and a half years ago. And now came the turn of the lenses. In the catalog of Four Thirds this year, said that the release of all Zuiko Digital lenses Four Thirds system discontinued.

Nostalgic link: camera Review Olympus E-1.

Source: Four Thirds



(Visited 32 times, 1 visits today)
No tags for this post.